top of page


Team Harper Recipients

Tim Chrestman 

Harper Award Winner

2016 Classes and Activities


  • Cardboard Boat Building Competition

  • Basics of Construction Plans Reading

  • Intro to Plumbing

  • Intro to HVAC (Air Conditioning/Heating)

  • Intro to Landscape Design and Irrigation

  • Teamwork Exercise – Ropes Course

  • Intro to Green Building

  • Hands on Shop Class

  • Tools Competition

  • Interviewing Etiquette

  • Career Fair with potential employers

  • Marketing Class


2016 Leadership Summit Premier Sponsors

Our annual FBA Leadership Summit was held on April 7-9, 2016 at the FFA Camp in Haines City, FL and was chaired by John Carlson of Core Construction and vice chair Wendy Dittmar of Manning Building Supplies.


The Summit brought together 43 FBA students from across the state of Florida from participating high schools and technical centers and 37 volunteer counselors and instructors for a 3-day event that included team building activities, hands-on class instruction in various trades and lots of fun.  This year our students came from Bartow High School, Charlotte Technical Center, Deland High School, Port St Lucie High School and South Fork High School.  The counselors and Instructors evaluate the students as they take part in the programs and select the most outstanding student in their teams.  They are evaluated for their attitude, leadership qualities, team work and more to determine who the Summit Harper Award Recipient will be.  The Harper Award is named after Robert and Amy Harper who have been amazing contributors to the foundation and the Summit.

This year’s Team Harper Recipients are Jessie Arocha – Deland HS, Chris North – Deland HS, Joshua Seiler – Deland HS, Tim Chrestman – Deland HS, Nate Ball – Deland HS, Jane Anne Brown – Bartow HS, Dalton Hicks – Bartow HS and Colin Adams – Deland HS.  The Harper Award Recipient is Tim Chrestman of Deland HS.  Tim is a 12th Grade Senior and has been a student in Mr. Rick Hervey’s carpentry class for all 4 years.  Tim started in Engineering at Deland HS but wanted more hands-on projects so he switched to the carpentry program where he has helped to build life guard towers, beach signs, outdoor glider chairs, Adirondack chairs and much more.  Tim is also an Eagle Scout and Assistant Scoutmaster with Boy Scout Troop 725.

Check out our video and see how much fun we had!

Thank you to our 2016 Volunteers!

Chairman - John Carlson, Core Construction

Vice Chairman - Wendy Dittmar, Manning Building Supplies

Adan Macias, Alumni 2006

Adolpho Macias, Alumni 2009

Beth Cantin, Cantin Homes

Blake Nicholson, Alumni 2008

Bruce Balcombe, APG Electric

Dallas Frailey, Alumni

Dave Carter, Carter Engineering 

Diane & Joe Becker, Executive Cooling & Heating

Emmett Reed, FHCA

Harrison & Mike Hickman, Hickman Homes

Jessica Whittington, Alumi

Jimmy Giles, Bartow High School

John Sanchez, Jensen Beach Plumbing

Jose Hernandez, Alumni 2013

Julie Coker, Coker Construction Services

Kip Goulder, APG Electric

Maddie Williams, Treasure Coast Builders Association

Mary Brynes, NAHB Student Chapter Manager

Merry Mott, Florida Nursery, Growers and Landscapers Association

Michelle Delaney, LRA Insurance

Nate Ritter, Green Built Solutions

Paul Rauch, Sustainable Lawns by Wildrose

Ray Puzzitiello, Puzzitiello Builders

Rick Hervey, Deland High School

Rick Ilmberger, Suncoast Glass & Mirror

Robert Foster, Polk County School Board

Robin Grantham, SW Fl. Water Mgmt District 

Rusty Payton, Florida Home Builders Association

Scott McCracken, Sawhorse Construction

Skye Lawton, Cantin Homes

See you next year!

bottom of page